Sherlock Holmes (1984)

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (1984–1985), The Return of Sherlock Holmes (1986–1988), The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes (1991–1993) and The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (1994), collectively known as Sherlock Holmes, are a series of adaptations of Arthur Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes stories which were produced by Granada Television and originally broadcast by ITV in the United Kingdom. The series starred Jeremy Brett as Holmes and David Burke (in the Adventures series) and Edward Hardwicke (Return, Case-Book, Memoirs) as Dr. Watson. The programme adapted 42 of the original stories in 41 episodes, with 36 running for 50 minutes (in a one-hour timeslot), and five being feature-length specials. Adventures ran for two series totalling 13 episodes, from April to June 1984 and August to September 1985. Return ran for two series from July to August 1986 and April to August 1988, as well as the specials "The Sign of Four" and "The Hound of the Baskervilles", which aired on 29 December 1987 and 31 August 1988 respectively. Case-Book ran for one series from February to March 1991 and three specials which aired on 2 January 1992 and 27 January and 3 February 1993. Memoirs ran for one series from March to April 1994. A short episode was also produced as part of "The Four Oaks Mystery" which aired during the ITV Telethon in 1992. Sherlock Holmes appeared in the first part, with the casts of Van der Valk, Taggart and Inspector Wexford appearing in the second, third and fourth parts respectively.

  • Arthur Conan Doyle
  • John Hawkesworth
  • Michael Cox
Seasons: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
themoviedb icon 8.1/10
  • Release Date: 1984-04-24
  • Views: 236
  • Country: GB
  • Language: En
  • Runtime: 60

Jude Law

Joe Barnes

James Wilby

Young Barclay

Oliver Tobias

Captain Croker

Andy Bradford

First Thug

Freda Dowie

Mrs. Porter

Catherine Rabett

Young Nancy

Jenny Seagrove

Miss Mary Morstan

Ishaq Bux

Lal Chowder

Alan Howard

The Duke of Holdernesse

Gareth Thomas

Joseph Harrison

Jeremy Brett

Sherlock Holmes

Norma West

Lady Diana Swinstead

Michael Jayston

The Earl of Rufton

Lisa Daniely

Nancy Barclay

Tenniel Evans

Hilton Cubitt

Eve Matheson

Miss Tangey

Robin Hunter

Major Sholto

Denis Quilley

Dr Leon Sterndale

Vernon Dobtcheff


William Ash

Jack Smith

James Purefoy

James McCarthy

Barry Lowe

John Straker

Kim Thomson

Kitty Winter

Nickolas Grace


Denys Hawthorne

James Barclay

Eugene Lipinski

Abe Slaney

Hans Meyer

Hebworth (Alias Veitch)

Serena Gordon

Lady Eva Blackwell

Ronald Lacey

Thaddeus & Bartholomew Sholto

Marina Sirtis


John Castle


David Burke

Dr. Watson

Edward Hardwicke

Dr. Watson

Rosalie Williams

Mrs. Hudson

Colin Jeavons

Inspector Lestrade

Wolf Kahler

King of Bohemia

Anne-Louise Lambert

Lady Mary Brackenstall (as Anne Louise Lambert)

Christopher Benjamin

Dr. Huxtable

Catherine Russell

Grace Dunbar

Jonathan Coy

Fitzroy Simpson

Damien Thomas

Mortimer Tregennis

Bernard Atha

Dr Carthew

Michael Carter

Godfrey Norton

Jack Klaff

The Hon. Philip Green

David Ross (1945)

Inspector Martin

Zulema Dene

Theresa Wright

Betsy Brantley

Elsie Cubitt

Lila Kaye

Mrs. Mordecai Smith

Anthony Valentine

Baron Gruner

Charles Kay

Professor Presbury

David Mallinson

Colonel Dorking

Alf Joint


John Thaw

Jonathan Small

Alison Skilbeck

Annie Harrison

Adrian Lukis

Jack Bennett

James Bree


Michael Bilton


Gwen Ffrangcon Davies

The Dowager (as Gwen Ffrangcon-Davies)

Jimmy Hibbert

Hobbs, The Painter

Barbara Wilshere

Violet Smith

Joanna Roth

Alice Turner

Celia Gregory

Maria Gibson

Paul Chapman

Major Murphy

Derek Deadman


Howard Gaye

Lewis, Dorking's Batman

David John

Ned Hunter
Write one

Sorry, no results found.